You Noodle

10 Mar

As winter slowly leaves us here in Israel, I’m starting to put my warming comfort food recipes aside and find myself browsing for salads, granolas & cheery breakfast shakes while searching for sandals and summer dresses online. Luckily, we’re not there yet. After a grey, windy day like today, sinking into the couch with one of these on your lap will not only warm your insides but remind you about all the good, cosy things winter has to offer.

crispy/soft

Oven baked potato wedges

Potatoes are in my Irish/Russian genes and I shall always love them more than any other round starchy vegetable. My ideal dinner involving these wedges includes a freshly chopped Israeli salad and chorizo sausauges. Dip ’em in ketchup, mayo, aioli or whatever takes your fancy – just dip ’em.  And bake ’em, it’s the healthier option.

Baked Apples 

Delish!

What’s not to love about this little ball of warm, oozy sweetness? A friend likes to stuff them with dates and a heavy dash of cinnammon, I prefer raisins and toasted pecans. Whatever it is, nothing beats this dessert on a blustery, house-bound eve.

Katie’s Chicken Soup – ‘passed down from ancient ancestors‘.

Just the smell of this soup when it comes out of the oven (yes, oven!) brings back the most delicious memories of long and lovely Friday nights at uni in Leeds, when – like something out of a movie – I lived in a skinny, tall townhouse with five  of my (now) best friends. On Friday nights we were rosy-cheeked from the walk back from Hillel House, prancing around our basement kitchen, we’d be entertaining a gaggle of guests,  singing, spilling, eating, giggling and creating the memories we still laugh about today. Daniella always made the potatoes, I always made the chicken, Jo always made dessert, and Katie always made her soup. I can’t remember exactly what Rachel made, but Gabi always set the table. Oh rich, delicious chicken soup. You can’t not go for seconds of this one – the soup, and the nostalgia.  I don’t have a link to Katie’s recipe, so I’ll send you to my second favourite cook – Smitten Kitchen.

Matza balls & Chicken Noodle Soup –  Smitten Kitchen

I was making chicken soup long before Smitten Kitchen was even a twinkle in the eye (possible exaggeration) and my Mum’s recipe saw me through two post-Aliyah years of living alone, and many a winter flu.  As long as there’s plenty of thick lokshen (I like to use Parpadelle pasta), soft carrots and matza balls, I am always content and full. On ‘pyjamas shabbat’ in the winter, two bowls of this soup is the perfect lunch.  Deb at Smitten Kitchen has enhanced my Mum’s method with her kneidlach (matza balls) and tips on browning the chicken first to add more flavour. Mmm…

Very British Scones

I do not exaggerate when I say these take just 10 minutes to whip up, and 13 mins to bake. Meaning on a really cold winter’s eve, you could have a cup of tea and delicious, warm cranberry or raisin scones buttered and jammed within the space of half an hour.  What are you waiting for?

Teatime

Mulled Wine

Because really, what kind of winter would it be without that sweet scent of cinnammony alcohol wafting through the flat? Keep some of that red wine aside to make these yummy Poached Pears, and you have a most delicious dessert and probably some slightly tipsy guests.

Gingerbread Latte

I’ve Evernoted quite a few recipes for this yummy winter drink, but I’m going with this gal as she really tries her best to healthify everything yummy. Time to pin yourselves some of her delicious recipes.

chocolatecoveredkatie.com

Cholent!

As every cholent-making Jew knows, there is no actual recipe for a cholent (which is like a giant stew, usually based on beef but doesn’t have to be – because there’s no recipe, or rules!) and no two cholents are the same. The staples are meat, beans, pearl barley & potatoes.  Most cholent afficionados would never leave out onions, sweet potato or eggs, which bake to a nice brown colour in the crockpot overnight.  Beans can be white, red, kidney or even baked beans in their sauce. As my Dad always made sure to tell me when schooling me in the ‘art’ of cholent making – the most important thing is to add enough liquid! Nothing could be more disappointing than a burnt-out cholent pot on shabbes morning. There are a kzillion different opinions (of course) on what makes the most flavoursome cholent but my favourite ‘oddball’ ingredients are BBQ sauce, Golden Syrup, Chorizo & a dash of Worcestershire sauce.  The smell of slow-cooking cholent will fill your house overnight, and by the time you prise the lid off that crockpot come shabbes lunch, you’ll be salivating.

!בתאבון

Please leave a reply! Thanks - Dannii x

