Seven on the Seventh

7 Jan

7th Aliyahniversary today! In Judaism, the number 7 has all kinds of spiritual significance. Even without all the amazing things that have happened since I’ve been here, I think it would’ve been enough to just live here. Dayenu.

1. On January 7, 2007, I managed to get on the plane without too many tears, despite leaving my family behind in the airport. If I had managed this, even without having friends to meet me on the other side with balloons and warm hugs…dayenu

2. If I had managed to learn a bit of Hebrew in Ulpan, even without meeting a family that speaks no English, who forced me to learn…dayenu

3. If I had made just a few good friends in this new, strange land…dayenu. Instead, I am blessed with a lot of amazing friends here, who experience this country as I do – through cracked, wonky, rose-coloured spectacles. Friends who share my very first Israel memories, who danced with us at our wedding, whose own chuppahs we have cried at, who I have been drunk with more times than I should have, who also can’t make it through Hatikva on yom haatzmaut without crying, and hate supermarket shopping here almost as much as I do.

4. When I had all but given up on dating, and Dotan came along via the wonders of the internet, my world flipped upside down. If he had only taught me the things he has taught me, and not turned out to be my husband… well, not really dayenu. I don’t know who or where I’d be without him.

5. If we’d had all our beautiful, long married years together and not been able to expand our family… dayenu. But little did we know, the blessings were just on hold for a bit.

6. If he had just been born a tiny bundle of squawks and poops and noise, dayenu. That was all we wanted. But instead we have a happy, round, funny, gorgeous little elf of a baby who we adore.

7. If he had given us a roof over our heads, clothes on our back and food on our table… dayenu. But in our full, slightly hectic but happy life, we have so much more than that. And I am grateful for all of it.

To another seven years! x

January 7, 2007 - landed!

January 7, 2007 – landed!

Please leave a reply! Thanks - Dannii x

