Gratitude

15 Mar

It’s been a while since I wrote a gratitude post. Which is silly, because for the last 3-4 months I have been feeling nothing but gratitude.

This week, a terrible accident took place in Israel when two IAF helicopter pilots were killed –  likely due to a technical fault – during a routine outing. One of them, Noam Ron, had 3 daughters. The other, Erez Flexer, was 31 – the same age as me – and had been married just two years, leaving behind his wife and a 4 month old son.  How can you not be heartbroken? I am so, so sad for their partners and children. Especially their wives, and a little 4 month old baby who will never know his father. How can you not suddenly look up and around you at everything you have, right now – whether it be good, loving friends, a partner or a wonderful family- and not feel immense, heartbreaking gratitude?

May their memories be a blessing.

May their memories be a blessing.

I have been trying to say morning brachot/blessings on the train to work. My journey is about 35 minutes, and I spend the first 10 trying to concentrate just on the brachot. There’s a few in particular that always stand out for me –  for making me a woman, for making me free, for the clothes on my back, for my healthy body and for my eyes that can see.  I spend a bit too much time thinking about Greys Anatomy, and not enough about how all of these basic things are gifts – it’s so easy to forget!

yep.

Am grateful for the kickboxing going on inside my belly. I spent most of the first 4 months of this pregnancy absolutely panicked, with no way of knowing if everything was ok. Now when he kicks, he’s just letting me know- yo, am still here. Or, woah – that water was really cold.  Or, thanks for the chocolate. 

Speaking of which, am also grateful this week for Lindor’s white chocolate truffles (or maybe not so grateful – damn you for being so yummy), for the democratic process and a giant body pillow a work colleague has lent me. I’ve been waking up at night unable to find a comfy position. It can’t quite replace husband hugs, but it’s doing a good job of supporting my back. Kol hakavod, giant pillow.

As always, though, I am grateful above all else for said awesome hubs who has spent most of this week playing with our new telly – not just because he knows how or is a gadget freak (I mean, both are true), but because he wants me to be totally set with documentaries and series’ and all kinds of other fun things for when I’m on maternity leave, PG. He is the most considerate human being ever!

Also, being able to use my phone as a remote control makes me feel like we live in a space age. You know, like in those visions of the future where everyone wears silver and their dinners are pills that go in the microwave and turn into food. My phone is a remote control!

Happy weekending folks x

One Response to “Gratitude”

  1. JJ March 15, 2013 at 17:33 #

    I love it! 🙂 Thank you for this post this morning!

Please leave a reply! Thanks - Dannii x

