The Long and Short of It

9 Oct

Confession: I’ve never really clicked with short stories. By the time I’m invested in the plot of a short story, it’s almost over and even though I want to know more, I realise there won’t be any! Then you have to somehow dive into the next story – completely forgetting the characters introduced to you only a few pages ago, while remembering that it’s not the next chapter of the book you’re reading, but a separate world entirely. 

Orringer

I like to settle down into a book, get involved with the plot and the characters, and as I gently close my book at its end hopefully feel that it has added to my life in some way.  I like to read on the train during my commute, during lunch when I can and on long shabbat afternoons there’s often nothing better than snuggling into the couch ‘just so’, a cup of tea at hand, for a good few hours with my latest read. 

Ephron

Which is why I’m pleased that I recently took up a friend’s recommendation and ended up reading not one but three excellent compilations of short stories:  ‘How to Breathe Underwater’ by Julie Orringer, Nora Ephron’s ‘I Feel Bad About My Neck’ and  ‘I Was Told There’d Be Cake’ by Sloane Crosley. Yes, all female authors, all wry and funny and insightful.  For once, I’m really glad I ventured out of my limited comfort zone to read them. 

Crosley

With lots of friends who are busy working mothers, or currently home with newborns, it strikes me that short stories might be a nice way to inject some reading time into a hectic day without feeling that you’ve forgotten what happened two chapters ago… 

Happy reading! x

2 Responses to “The Long and Short of It”

  1. pash October 11, 2012 at 15:51 #

    the books sound great- i want to borrow- and of course see you soon x

  2. tals October 18, 2012 at 15:20 #

    confession: i am catching up on like a month’s worth of your blog posts right now. but i am so glad you finally read “i feel bad about my neck”!! i hope you laughed as much as i did. loudly. in public.

Please leave a reply! Thanks - Dannii x

