Muffins/Ma’Affans

17 May

For the last couple of months, I have been experiencing Trouble With Breakfast.  Our morning schedule doesn’t allow for a huge amount of um, anything, really, so I’ve become one of those ‘grab a banana as you run out the door’ peeps. Boo. In truth I ♥ breakfast and frequently drool over Deb’s mouth-watering list of brekkie recipes over at SmittenKitchen, but they’re notebooked away on Evernote labelled as ‘Friday breakfasts’ i.e. for when I have time! The thing is, I am starrrrrving all the way to work which just doesn’t feel good. My amazing hubs gets up with me ridiculously early so that I can catch a 6.20am train [I know. WHY. So that I can leave at 4.45pm and be home by 6.15pm, suckers. That’s why.] So I’ve been working on prepping breakfast foods in advance and then feeling 1) super organised 2) not starving and 3) glad for my fellow train travellers who no longer have to listen to my stomach rumbling.  

Here’s what I’ve been trying out the last couple of weeks, all of which I’d recommend! 

  • Lemon-Sesame Muffins
  • Green Monster smoothies
  • Hot Cross Buns
  • Perfect Blueberry Muffins
  • Cottage Cheese/Bio yoghurt & fruit
  • Wholewheat cranberry scones 
  • Multigrain Cereal/Muesli & Almond Milk 
  • Cinnammon-Oat pancakes
  • Strawberry Cheesecake Muffins (ok, that was just one week and a sugary start to the day is not a healthy start, but oh heck were they yum!)
  • Peanut Butter on Wholewheat Toast 

If you’ve got any ideas for ‘breakfast on the go’, lemme know! And yes, the absence of Porridge/Oatmeal from this list is hugely conspicuous because I think it’s gross. So there. 

p.s If you search on Pinterest for muffin recipes, you’ll come across some boards entitled ‘Stud Muffins‘ {I literally haven’t heard that expression since 1997, and it still makes me laugh} which are 90%  Ryan Gosling and 10% some other dudes with no shirts.  Ryan is, in truth, the stud of all the muffins.

p.p.s Ma’afan is an Arabic word which means crappy in Hebrew slang. I do not make crappy muffins, but every time I say I’m making them, Dotan insists on calling them ma’affans. Nice, eh?

Photo credit: SmittenKitchen.com

Please leave a reply! Thanks - Dannii x

