Thirty Before 30

22 Aug

Somewhere in a not so distant November,  the big 3-0 crouches, waiting to pounce. As I seem to alienate a large number of people every year (my Dad is quite proud, he tries to accomplish this before all his kids’ weddings…) I’m not really planning on throwing a massive shindig so that they can all come and throw shoes at me.  

 

Instead, inspired by Nicole Balch of Making It Lovely, who gave herself 6.5 months to complete her list of thirty things before 30, I’m putting the pressure on and giving myself just 2.5 months to complete my slightly less exciting but nonetheless challenging To-Do list! Then I’ll have a tea party and eat smug cake, I’ll gulp down self-satisfied lemonade with some good friends who, let’s be honest, probably won’t be talking to me by 32.  

So, in no particular order….

  • Move flats for the 6th time in 4 years (note: not an aspiration! We have no choice!).
  • Take my driving theory test.  
  • Start regular Acupuncture sessions.
  • Successfully make Ilana & Desi’s flower-shaped challah.    
  • Complete the Spielberg collection marathon (only 6 films to go!).
  • Visit my lovely pal Marjolein inAmsterdam.
  • Lose 13 pounds (shall we aim for 5?!).
  • Visit the Dialogue in the Dark museum, Holon.
  • Decide once and for all if I’m continuing to cover my hair (either way, dye it pink. underneath). 
  • Become a meal-planning whiz.
  • Make 3 new friends in Pardes Chana. 
  • Give up coffee (eeeeek). 
  • Print, make & frame a collage of our wedding photobooth pics.
  • Read ‘Honeymoon with My Brother’ – Franz Wisner.
  • Find a chavruta.
  • Get really, stupidly, silly drunk … one last time.   
  • Bake a 4-layer rainbow cake. 
  • Pray at the Kotel. It’s been too long. 
  • Buy a Holga (a Diana.F please, Santa) & learn how to use it to take pretty pictures.
  • Paint something – a picture, a door, a chair, many chairs, maybe a teapot. You used to love to paint.
  • Sponsor a kiddush at shul (Note: This is SO grown-up I might die).
  • Donate uni books to the 2nd-hand bookshop.
  • Spend a quality evening with my beautiful niece, Orly. 
  • Get semi-permanent eye lashes. 
  • Organise regular volunteering for Team Mazor at the local soup kitchen.
  • Start the novel you’ve always wanted to write.
  • Have a blood test for the BRCA1 gene.
  • Complete all 7 seasons of Gilmore Girls.
  • Have your diamond set.  
  • Sleep in an Indian teepee.

Possible outcome of challenge:  self-flagellation with twisty rope/ spring onions for not getting any of it done, resulting in feelings of overwhelming shame and a free-entry-all-month pass into Loserdom.  However, one shall persevere.  I’ll keep you posted. 

2 Responses to “Thirty Before 30”

  1. Jo August 23, 2011 at 22:28 #

    Love your 30. Can I get drunk with you ????? Also, which diamond???

    • danniibee November 29, 2011 at 09:57 #

      Now you’ve seen it you know which diamond! x

Please leave a reply! Thanks - Dannii x

